Dr. Nance Dicciani to be Honored as Henry F. Whalen Award Recipient at ACS 2012 Fall National Meeting


PHILADELPHIA--(BUSINESS WIRE)--The American Chemical Society Division of Business Development and Management is pleased to announce that Dr. Nance Dicciani will receive the 2012 Henry F. Whalen, Jr. Award for Excellence in Business Development and Management in the Chemical Enterprise.

In 2006, Dr. Dicciani was appointed by President George W. Bush to the President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST). She also currently serves on the Executive Committee of the American Chemistry Council and chairs the Board Research Committee. Dr. Dicciani is also a vice president of the Society of Chemical Industry and serves on their Executive Committee. She was the 2003 Warren K. Lewis Lecturer in Chemical Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Before retiring in 2008, Dr. Dicciani was the President and Chief Executive Officer of Specialty Materials, a $4.9B division of Honeywell. Ranked (not once, but twice) as one of the "World's 100 Most Powerful Women" by Forbes magazine, she was also named as one of the "Top 40 Most Important People in the Chemical Industry" in 2006 by Chemical Business. Nance held senior executive positions at Rohm & Haas as well as Air Products and Chemicals, Inc.

Nance currently serves on multiple Boards of Directors: Rockwood Holdings, Inc.; Praxair, Inc, and Halliburton. She is also part of Advent International's Operating Partner Program, which focuses on investment opportunities in the chemicals and materials industry. She supports the firm's global investment activities. She also serves on the board of trustees of Villanova University.

In accepting the award, Dr. Dicciani will present a keynote address, on Tuesday, August 21st at 2 pm in the Philadelphia Convention Center, entitled "The Entrepreneurial Landscape: How to Leverage R&D in a Changing Global Marketplace". This address will highlight her R&D and business experiences as the CEO of a multi-billion dollar strategic business group of a major multinational corporation. A moderated panel to follow will include: 2011 Whalen Award Recipient Dr. Magid Abou-Gharbia from Temple University, Ms. Denise Devine, CEO of Nutripharm, Inc., and Dr. Patrick Maggitti, Dean of the Villanova University School of Business. A reception, hosted by Halliburton, will immediately follow the symposium.

About the Division of Business Development and Management

The Division is comprised of members from chemical companies around the world. Our mission and vision are to champion business development and management of the chemical enterprise, and to be globally recognized as the preferred resource for creating, growing and managing chemical business.

About the American Chemical Society

The American Chemical Society is a nonprofit organization chartered by the U.S. Congress. With more than 164,000 members, ACS is the world's largest scientific society and a global leader in providing access to chemistry-related research through its multiple databases, peer-reviewed journals and scientific conferences. Its main offices are in Washington, D.C., and Columbus, Ohio.

Stories you Need to Know

It's on us. Share your news here.

Submit your stories and articles to citybizlist today.